Seeing the face… 

Earlier this year someone broke into my car and stole many personal things. That whole entire week was awful. One bad thing after another kept happening. Then, I came home to a package full of items to help me relax and to pamper myself (different teas, lotions, soaps, lip balm, etc.)  There was a letter telling me that this person was following my posts on Facebook and that she is sorry about my week and hopes it gets better. I was Facebook friends with this person because she went to highschool with my husband and all his friends, yet I never met her face to face. I finally met her today and decided to dedicate my slice to her. This poem is titled Seeing the Face..  

I never met you in person.

But you were there for me when I was down. 

You left a care package on my step. 

For a minute I lost my frown. 

I immediately gained respect for you because of that act of kindness on that day.

I promised to pay if forward and help another like you helped me in such a kind, thoughtful way. 

I was always curious what you were like face to face.

Today, I I saw you for the first time when you walked by  my place. 

It was weird, but I automatically knew who you were and you knew me too. 

I said it then and I’ll say it now, thank you, thank you,thank you!!!

Thank you for that bag of things to make me relax.

Thank you for thinking of me, when you hardly knew who I was.

Thank you for reminding me there are good people in this world!

One thought on “Seeing the face… 

  1. I LOVE this story, Kelly. 1- The story in and of itself is fabulous – I love making other people happy by helping. I think it’s even more amazing that she didn’t really know you. 2 – The poem was fantastic. It’s like you are talking to her and she doesn’t even know it. I know that sounds weird, but that’s the feeling I got. Sort of like you were looking from the inside out the entire time. Thanks for sharing! Made my day! 🙂 Love these types of stories!

Leave a Reply

